Full Athlete Marketing

Negro Leagues Baseball Museum to honor Granderson

Kansas City, Mo. - Tigers leadoff man Curtis Granderson and slugger Miguel Cabrera will be honored in January by the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum as part of its 2008 Legacy Awards.

The awards are presented each winter to top players in the Major Leagues based on their accomplishments from the past season. The Oscar Charleston Legacy Awards recognize the best player in each league, as decided by the museum, while other awards recognize both statistical leaders and top contributors off the field.

Granderson will be recognized for his baseball and community leadership with the John Henry "Pop" Lloyd Award. A visitor to the museum during the Tigers' travels to Kansas City, Granderson has become a central figure in the Tigers' community and charitable efforts over the last three seasons while contributing on his own through his Grand Kids Foundation to help fund educational initiatives in Detroit as well as his hometown of Chicago. He recently continued his role as an MLB international ambassador with a trip to China to visit clinics and talk with amateur and professional players there.

The Legacy recipients will pick up their awards Jan. 10, 2009, during a ceremony at the Gem Theater in Kansas City, a venue across the street from the baseball museum itself. Proceeds from the Ninth Annual Legacy Awards will benefit the institution, which keeps alive the legacy of men and women who played, coached or owned teams when baseball was a segregated sport.

The 2008 Legacy Awards award winners are:

John Henry "Pop" Lloyd Award-presented in recognition of "BASEBALL AND COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP"
Recipient: Curtis Granderson, Detroit Tigers

Josh Gibson Award-presented to the NL and AL "HOME RUN" leaders
Recipients: Ryan Howard, Philadelphia Phillies; and Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers

Bullet Rogan Award-presented to the NL and AL "PITCHERS OF THE YEAR"
Recipients: Tim Lincecum, San Francisco Giants; and Cliff Lee, Cleveland Indians

James "Cool Papa" Bell Award-presented to the NL and AL "STOLEN BASE" leaders
Recipients: Willy Taveras, Colorado Rockies; and Jacoby Ellsbury, Boston Red Sox

Walter "Buck" Leonard Award-presented to the NL and AL "BATTING CHAMPIONS"
Recipients: Chipper Jones, Atlanta Braves; and Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins

Andrew "Rube" Foster Award-presented to the NL and AL "EXECUTIVES OF THE YEAR"
Recipients: Doug Melvin, Milwaukee Brewers; and Tony Reagins, Los Angeles Angels

Charles Isham "C. I." Taylor Award-presented to the NL and AL "MANAGERS OF THE YEAR"
Recipients: Lou Pinella, Chicago Cubs; and Joe Maddon, Tampa Bay Rays

Larry Doby Award-presented to the NL and AL "ROOKIES OF THE YEAR"
Recipients: Geovany Soto, Chicago Cubs; and Evan Longoria, Tampa Bay Rays

Hilton Smith Award-presented to the NL and AL "RELIEVERS OF THE YEAR"
Recipients: Jose Valverde, Houston Astros; and Francisco Rodriguez, Los Angeles Angels

Jackie Robinson Lifetime Achievement Award-presented to an individual for "CAREER EXCELLENCE IN THE FACE OF ADVERSITY"
Recipient: Cito Gaston, manager of the Toronto Blue Jays

John "Buck" O'Neil Award-presented to a local or national corporate/private philanthropist for "OUTSTANDING SUPPORT OF THE NLBM"
Recipients: Jon Wefald, president of Kansas State University


All material on this web site is the property of Full Athlete Marketing and may not be reproduced without expressed written consent.
© Copyright 2006 Full Athlete Marketing.
Website design by Danielle Hobeika. Logo design by Jim Schuessler.